HIMSS Davies Award winners boost quality with AI, telehealth and more

This month, HIMSS has been spotlighting the most recent recipients of the HIMSS Davies Award of Excellence, which recognizes health systems for their “innovative, thoughtful applications of information and technology” toward improved patient outcomes and population health. The four 2023 winners so far are:

Stanford Medicine

Palo Alto, California-based Stanford Medicine submitted three case studies showing how it’s using artificial intelligence and telehealth offer more “timely and higher quality access to care” to patients in various care settings. Its case studies were:

“Achieving the HIMSS Davies Award is such an honor, as it reflects the successful partnerships throughout Stanford Health Care that enable health information technology to transform patient care,” said Dr. Michael Pfeffer, chief health information officer at Stanford Medicine. “I am so proud of the professionals in our health information technology organization that push the boundaries of IT through collaborative and creative thinking and dedication to our mission.”

Saint Luke’s University Health Network

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania-based Saint Luke’s was recognized – for a third time – for its efforts to build out a more data-driven governance structure that helps identify new opportunities for improved care processes and enable sustainable improvements in care outcomes.

Advances in antimicrobial stewardship, launching an on-site testing platform to handle the peak waves of COVID-19 cases, and optimizing advanced care planning for patients facing advanced chronic kidney disease were focuses of SLUHN’s work recognized by the Davies Award.

“We are honored and proud to be recognized as one of only three hospital systems in the nation to win the HIMSS Davies Award three times,” said Saint Luke’s CIO Chad Brisendine. “We have an innovative team who continue to use St. Luke’s clinical data to improve the quality of care and the health of our patients. This team’s work continues to advance our mission to improve the health and wellbeing of people and communities entrusted to our care.”

Mackenzie Health

Ontario-based Mackenzie Health is the first hospital outside of the United States – and the only hospital in Canada – to be recognized with a Davies Award for a second time.

Its case studies show how it built a coordinated digital response to the pandemic using remote patient monitoring and advanced analytics:

“We’re proud to receive the Davies Award of Excellence from HIMSS for a second time and for shining a light on how we are changing the landscape of healthcare innovation across the sector,” said Purvi Desai, digital health and chief information officer. “The innovations we’re making in the delivery of healthcare at Mackenzie Health through remote monitoring programs, improved medication administration processes and our management of the pandemic are leading to improved outcomes for our patients.”

China Medical University Hospital

In Taiwan, meanwhile, Taichung City-based China Medical University Hospital is the first Taiwanese provider to achieve a Davies Award. It has been recognized by HIMSS for its use of AI-assisted diagnostic and risk tools to improve a variety of clinical use cases.

CMUH submitted three case studies.

“We are honored to be recognized as the first Davies Award recipient in Taiwan,” said Dr. Der-Yang Cho, superintendent of China Medical University Hospital. “CMUH integrates medical data to design predictive tools that assist clinicians in enhancing care processes. Through the journey of digital transformation, we rescue more patients and uplift their quality of life.”



Mike Miliard is executive editor of Healthcare IT News
Email the writer: mike.miliard@himssmedia.com

Healthcare IT News is a HIMSS publication.

Source link

This post originally appeared on TechToday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *